It’s WAR! Video stores, union reps rally against buck-a-night DVD kiosks

hollywood_sign

Listen up Hollywood, I love my redbox, I dispise the video store, oh wait, what video store, I have one choice, its called Blockbuster and frankly Blockbuster makes me want pull my hair and nails out.

Video Business reports that the Video Buyers Group, a trade organization for some 1,700 independent brick-and-mortar video stores, is prepping an ad campaign that’ll paint Redbox as a threat to the film industry as we know it. Why? Because its $1-a-night rental rate is “generating less revenue” for Hollywood studios than the $3-$5/night prices charged by the average video store, according to Video Business.

Its safe to assume that Video Buyers Group will not make it to the Christmas Card list this year

So, why all the fuss? Simple: Hollywood execs (who are already alarmed by sinking DVD sales) are furious that Redbox would dare rent the latest DVDs for just a buck a night, a price that is “grossly undervaluing” their hottest new movies, while struggling mom-and-pop video stores are fretting that DVD kiosks and their cheap rental policies are undercutting their own rental prices.

I’m not too much of a smart cookie, but I’m guessing without the over priced rent, signage, employees etc, thats where they are mostly saving the $2 per movie.

Well Hollywood, the land that gives me Lindsey Lohan, Paris Hilton and Jon minus Kate plus 8, I’m not going to take this one bent over, I put up with all the crap you throw at me, at least you can do is give me DVD for a cheap price to make the numbing pain you throw my way a little more bearable.

I think you are sorely mistaken, its not redbox distroying the industry its the over inflated egos and paychecks

Thoughts?

Published in: on September 8, 2009 at 8:04 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pottokettle.wordpress.com/2009/09/08/its-war-video-stores-union-reps-rally-against-buck-a-night-dvd-kiosks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

